Finished two new paintings….third one done? Not Sure….

I finished 2 new paintings today. For some reason I’ve been totally infatuated with trees. Their shape, color, contours, lines and color are fascinating to me.

So…these are 2 small (7″x9″) acrylic on canvasboard paintings that I’ve finished.

“Mother”

“Father”

So far….I’ve named them “Mother” and “Father”. I would like to think of more in depth names but I haven’t come up with anything yet. Any suggestions?

This is an 18″ x 24″ painting that has me stumped. As I’ve been painting it….I keep referring to it as “Old Mother”. To my eye, it is a strong, hefty tree with deep roots which has seen many years. She is gnarled, scarred and old. I don’t know if she’s done or if I should keep going. I feel that she needs more, stronger/thicker limbs plus more drooped/hanging limbs to represent the weight she’s felt over the years. I am not really happy with it right now because it does feel unfinished to me but I don’t want to push too hard and totally disrupt it’s current flow. Any thoughts?

Leave a Reply

