Walkin the dogs…

Just took my 2 dogs for a walk. This is the first time I’ve done this by myself since we moved to this house. Kind of nervous at first but it turned out ok.

My border collie mix is kind of a nut. She needs to become more socialized with other dogs and people (I don’t think she’s aggressive with other dogs but maybe over-anxious to meet them?)…plus she has an excess of energy. I recently bought a dog backpack to use on her and put a little weight in it today to see how she’d do. Went pretty good and I think the walk tired her out some. I KNOW it tired out my older gentleman lab/collie mix. He’s almost 13 and by the end of the walk he was draggin his feet a little.

We passed a little dog that was tied out and though they both wanted to “greet” him, I used a couple of methods (on the border collie) I learned while watching Cesar Milan and we made it though that little hitch. With more exposure to new things, dogs and people…I think she’ll overcome this obsession she has with the unknown. It’s a good start to her rehabilitation.

Tomorrow hubby and I are going to “meet” a new possible member to our fur family. Here name is Lilly and she is an 18 month old lab/spaniel/retriever mix. We’ll see how it goes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

