Researching veggies for zone 4

I have begun my research to find veggies appropriate for an even shorter growing season. Being in zone 5 is hard enough at times…with the limited amount of warm days. Not I’m trying to find varieties of tomatoes, sweet peppers and especially hot peppers. (hot peppers is really going to be a challenge for us LOL) I just came across a website dedicated to gardening in zone 4. http://zone4garden.com Appears to be FULL of great tips and info.

Granted…there’s not a HUGE difference in the zones but besides having to deal with a shorter growing season…I also have to learn about amending extremely, EXTREMELY sandy soil.

I’ve found so far that California Wonder is one type of sweet pepper that should do really well. Also..the early jalepenos should be ok but I will also have to find a couple of the hotter varieties such as Serrano, Cayenne and Thai for the hubby. Maybe they’ll have to be babies or brought indoors if it gets too cold too soon.

Tomatoes will probably be a bit easier as I’ll just find some with an average of 70 days from transplant to harvest.

I still need to research other crops such as melons, cukes, squash, pumpkins and zukes.

Leave a Reply

