Potato Bread and Great Old Books

Did quite of bit of organizing yesterday.  Found about 90% of my cookbooks and gardening books and I’m trying to find room for them all.  Now I know that a lot of my resources are online but there is just no way I can give up some of my favorite books….especially the vintage ones.  Today’s technology is great but some of the best gardening advice I’ve found is the old tried-and-true ways that have been supporting gardeners for many, many decades.  Can’t find that stuff online so that’s why my books stay.

Mike got our bedroom pretty much done.  Now all I have to do is paint the trim and touch up some of the spots along the ceiling and we’re good to go.  I really like my bedroom….it’s a relaxing sage/oregano green color.

I also managed to find all of my jewelry making supplies (actually hubby found it all)  Made a couple of new pieces for the first time in about 5 months.  Nice to be crafting again.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Now, onto the potato bread.  This is my favorite recipe for the bread.  It is very easy….if you follow the directions.  Unfortunately, yesterday I made the bread and accidently put in almost twice as much water as I was supposed to.  Guess my mind was somewhere else.  🙂  Hope you try this recipe in your bread machine (I will be giving it another go today LOL).  It’s my family’s favorite!

POTATO BREAD FOR BREAD MACHINE

makes 1.5 lb loaf
 
1-1/4 C. + 2 TB warm water
 
2 TB butter or margarine
 
3-1/4 C. bread flour

1/2 C. instant potato flakes

2 TB dry milk

2 TB sugar
 
1-1/4 tsp. salt
 
1-3/4 tsp. active dry yeast
or
1-1/4 tsp. bread machine/fast rise yeast
 
make according to bread machine’s directions
Leave a Reply

