Thyme Hot Peppers – Canned

Made 10 quarts of thes HOT little buggers the other day.  I swear these were the HOTTEST jalapenos that I have ever used.  Tried a tiny piece last night (about 1/4″ x 1/4″ piece of the “sweet” peppers in the jar) and almost cried.  Hubby loves them though.

One of the coolest things about this recipe is that all the peppers were free.  I have a very resourceful FIL that finds lots of veggies and luckily he is willing to share them with me.  Only costs I had were the vinegar, garlic and dill.  Everything else I had on hand.

*Note* the recipe for the brine is not actually enough for fill all of the 10 quarts.  I used a smaller brine recipe that I had taken from my Hot and Dilly Veggie Mix recipe and just tweeked it a bit.  And….according to the directions you are supposed to process these in a boiling water bath for 10 minutes which I didn’t do myself.  By the time I was ready to process, the lids had started popping/sealing so I figured they were good to go.  But you can make your own decision on that matter when you do your canning.  🙂

Thyme Hot Peppers – Canned

BRINE
6 C. vinegar
3 C. water
2 TB sugar
2 TB Kosher Salt
ADD TO EACH QUART
garlic cloves
large dill head
small sprigs of thyme
chive leaves

8 Quarts of Jalapeno peppers
2 Quart of sweet bell peppers
1 large onion
Slice the jalapenos into 1/2” slices. (wear gloves for this if you’re sensitive to capsaisin).  Roughly chop the bell peppers so they’re approx the same size as the jalapenos.  Slice onion thinly.
Mix all of the peppers and onions together evenly.

Pack veggies tightly into clean hot jars with:
3 cloves garlic, 1 dill head, 2 sprigs of fresh thyme, 3 chives leaves
Pour boiling brine into the jars leaving 1/2” of head-space. Seal.

♦For this recipe, I made the brine in small batches because I borrowed it from another recipe.  You will actually need to remake this brine recipe a few times to be able to fill all of the jars♦.
Process 10 minutes in hot water bath.

Leave a Reply

