Birch Bark Crafts and Salad Wraps

We recently had a dead birch tree fall in the front of our yard near our driveway.  Of course my brain screamed, “creative opportunity!”.   So, hubby dragged the 20 foot long tree up the driveway with the van (with DD in back holding on so it didn’t fall out) and I started peeling the bark.  I’ve never really worked with birch bark before so it was kind of interesting to slice through  and see all the beautiful layers hidden inside.  When I was a kid my Dad showed me how to carefully peel off the outer layer on a live tree and then write a little message on the papery bark but I didn’t know it was such a complex tree until now.

First project was to take some nice sizes of the bark and clean them in mild soapy water.  Luckily this tree had been pretty clean of critters and buggies so it wasn’t too icky of a job.  After letting the bark dry, I wrapped a couple of older jelly glasses with it and twisted some 16 gauge black coated wire around the whole thing to secure it.  I was going to use hot glue but haven’t been able to find the hot glue gun since our move so wire would have to do.  (don’t you know that I found the gun the next day too!!! LOL)  The result is a rustic yet elegant looking mini vase.  Popped a couple of my hydrangea blooms in it and it looks really pretty.  Basically a free project as I had all the supplies laying around….and really easy to do.

It’s been blazing hot here with high humidity so I’ve been trying to come up with meal ideas that don’t involve using the stove too much.  So, I thought of this recipe.  You can use chicken breasts/thighs, canned chicken, turkey, rabbit or whatever you like.  You can cook the chicken in the microwave so the house doesn’t heat up or use a rotisserie chicken from the supermarket. It’s really delish!

Chicken Pecan-Salad Wraps

4-6  (depending on size) flour tortillas
1/2 C. mayo
1/2 tsp. lemon juice
1/8 tsp. dill (or to taste)
1-1/2 C. diced or shredded cooked turkey or chicken
1/2 C. shredded lettuce
1 TB. sliced green onion
1/4 C. chopped pecans(or walnuts, almonds & peanuts are good too)
salt and pepper to taste

Remove tortillas from fridge and allow to stand at room temp while preparing.
In medium bowl, mix all ingredients and season with salt and pepper.  Divide filling between tortillas and fold. 

Also good with some shredded cheese.  And, hubby like’s it REALLY dilly so I tend to use about 2 tsp of dill.  Yea, it’s a lot.  Great the next day too!

Hope you all are staying cool!

Leave a Reply

