I don’t shop at Wal-mart anymore….

I don’t shop at Wal-mart anymore.  OK…once a month we do go there so my DH can get a prescription filled and we might pick up a thing or two but since we moved, the nearest Wal-mart is now about 40 minutes away.    And that’s ok with me.

Actually, it is one of the best things that could have happened to us.  Wal-mart may be cheap and convenient but it also a place that “invites” you to spend way too much money.  Since it is so convenient, having just about everything you need under one roof, I believe that it also entices you to spend foolishly on things you probably don’t need but end up buying just cuz it’s “a great deal”.  Think about it.  How many times have to “run to Wal-mart” to pick up TP and end up leaving with 6 bags full of STUFF, while scratching your head wondering what happened.

Considering food at Wal-mart  (and this is probably the BIGGEST thing that we’ve learned since moving)…..the quality sucks!  Really, it does.  I would never have believed it either because it looks good but, it does.  Since we moved we found a small-town grocery store.  They don’t have all the conveniences of the bigger chain stores and the prices are a little higher  but what they do have is QUALITY food.  The fruits and veggies are great and more local items are available.  Fresh sweet corn from a farm right down the road is pretty hard to beat.  Produce at the local store or even a farmer’s market….more of it is organic and you’re also supporting your community.  Produce at Wal-mart…well, who knows WHERE that stuff comes from?!   The biggest difference that we’ve noticed, though, is the meat.  The quality of the meat is so, SO much better than the stuff you buy at Wal-mart.  Less greasy, better taste and it’s actually from the U.S.   I don’t care what the % of  fat is on the Wal-mart packages…..it can say the same % as the stuff on the local grocery store but the proof is in the cooking.    I can cook up 1 # of ground beef from the local store and 1# of ground beef from WallyWorld (same percentage of fat, keep in mind) and that one frying pan will hold 2x the amount of grease when the cooking is done.  Go figure.   My family and I have noticed a huge difference in the way we physically feel simply because we don’t buy food from Wal-mart anymore.   We’re all healthier, feel better with more energy and have actually lost weight.  (I’m fitting into shorts that I haven’t worn in over a year LOL)

2 thoughts on “I don’t shop at Wal-mart anymore….

  1. I totally agree! My husband and I stopped going to WalMart last year because you always spend way more than you need to. Now I get most of my items local…and the food is much better. We either grow it or buy it from local farmers (meat included). Great post!

  2. Oh yes…..

    I tried to tell others about that very same thing…the quality of the meat at Wally World SUCKS! I have NEVER in my life had fattier, less tasty meat than there! Unless it’s the ONLY place (on vacation) to get food…I’ll go anywhere else in town!

    Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

