Rustic Artwork

Rustic artwork….. kind of came about by accident.  I had purchased an old painting on canvas from a rummage sale awhile ago.  It was a little beat-up and definitely not something I’d normally hang up.   So, I decided to paint over it.  Sounds a little dodgy, doesn’t it?  Painting over some other artwork is rather odd to say the least but it was a “commercial” piece of work and although the painting was in rough shape, the canvas and frame were in good condition.

In keeping with the theme I was currently working on (black bears) I decided to keep it simple and see how a bear silhouette looked on canvas.  With a little texture and gobs of paint,  it turned out rather nice (IMO).

Now this painting technique has really seemed to capture my attention.  They’re FUN!  I recently finished 7 more paintings (this time on canvas-board) using the same basic style.   Ok…. “officially” finished 4.  There is a trio of black bears with different backgrounds that I’m not positive are finished yet.   

These are all available in my Etsy shop now.  http://www.etsy.com/shop/brambleoak?section_id=7215421

Back to the paint for me now… working on some watercolors today.

Leave a Reply

