And Winter Sowing Begins

Yesterday I started winter sowing my seeds.  It’s been a couple of years since I’ve sown seeds this way and I really can tell that I missed how easy it is to do.  

Anyway, because the hustle and bustle of Christmas is over, it’s the perfect time for me to get some seeds started.  Yesterday I planted 19 containers of seeds.  All perennials but there are a couple that are “iffy” for zone 4….but we’ll see how they go.  This is a great way to save A LOT of money on plants that you would otherwise have to buy at the garden center, plus it’s an excellent way to recycle plastic containers.  The only money I have invested so far is the soil I bought at the hardware store.  (and on that note….. why is it that so many retail stores “hide” their potting soil over the winter.  Do they think that just because it’s cold, no one needs soil?  What about people with houseplants?)

Here’s the varieties so far:

(numbers are for my record keeping)

Gaillardia (2)

Sweet William (3)

Fountain Grass – Pennisetum (2)

Giant Purple Hyssop (1)

Blue Balloon Flower (2)

Coneflowers – purple (2)

Bee Balm – red (2)

Achillea Ptarmica – “The Pearl” (2)

Aclepias Tuberosa (3)

We started saving plastic soda and water bottles and unfortunately….. I used them all up already.  I found some old plastic planting pots by my shed and I’m going to devise a cover for them using some plastic.  My only real concern is the critters in the woods getting into the containers but it’s a chance I’ll have to take.  I’ve got my 19 little containers sitting in back, nestled in the snow and waiting for Spring.

I’ve also jumped back into the Garden Web scene.  Right now I’m doing a little trading and finding some great seeds for my yard.  After they’ve grown and produced…then I’ll have more to share with others too.

If you’re interested in learning more about winter sowing, visit this website:  http://wintersown.org

Leave a Reply

