Easiest Donut Holes

The family has been craving donuts lately.  Sometimes they’re kind of expensive though….especially those really good ones.  Wish I had realized years ago just how easy making donut holes could be.  This is a recipe I found and tweaked to my liking.  Just finished frying up a batch. 

Of course, there were a few things to learn along the way in regards to frying these up.   *Don’t make your oil temperature too hot.  In fact, a little cooler is good.  I found that if the oil temp was too high, the outside fried up really quickly and got quite dark…. looking ‘done’ but the center was a bit doughy. If I kept the temp a little lower, they fried more evenly, became a nice golden brown and were cooked through.  Usually you hear that if you fry something too slowly, the food absorbs a lot of oil but this was not the case with these donut holes.  Anyway…. trial and error with the oil is the way to go.  Not a horrible deal for the cook since you get to eat the mistakes! LOL

EASIEST DONUT HOLES
1 c. sugar
2 eggs, beaten
1 c. milk
2 tsp. vanilla ( I found a “French Vanilla” that was delish!)
3 c. flour

1/4 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. ground ginger

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

2 tsp. baking powder
Mix together. Drop by teaspoon into hot oil.  Do not make them too big or they’ll be raw in the center. Fry until brown. Drain.

You can dust these with either powdered sugar or cinnamon sugar.  I used paper bags for the sugars and just tossed the still warm donuts in to get the two different flavors.

4 thoughts on “Easiest Donut Holes

  1. I can’t tell you how much I’ve been craving donuts as of late. It’s insane. However, I’ve been far too lazy to make my own – I’m thinking a trip to the donut store is long overdue. Or your house…

Leave a Reply

