Welcome June!

I am pretty happy that June if finally here.  May was OK but so cold and wet.  June has started off to a beautiful start with bright sunny skies and temps in the hi 70’s.  Nice breeze blowing… couldn’t ask for a better day.

I have just about filled the garden.  About 1/2 of the tomatoes and peppers have been put in and I’m out of room.  Can’t get much more to fit.  I usually plant things fairly close together to keep the weeds down and maximize the space but if I put more into each row…. I will really be pushing it.  So, on to containers unless I find some other spot in the yard to tear up.

Most of the morning glories that I planted are up and looking happy.  I’ve got Moonflowers, Hyacinth Bean, Cypress Vine, Japanese Morning Glories, Brazilian Morning Glories and some of the more common types.  I am hoping to collect tons of seeds in the fall.

Just returned from town after mailing lots of packages.  Seems like I’m selling more internationally from my shops lately.  Especially my paper, fabric and crochet shop ( http://rusticdivadesigns.etsy.com ) which is A.O.K with me.  I think it’s so much fun to see who is interested in my items and ship to lots of different places. 

Saturday is grocery day.  Been gathering up my coupons and getting my lists together.  Hopefully (fingers crossed) I will do better than I did last month saving money.  I’ve learned so much from the new FB coupon groups that I joined…. lots of friendly people with loads of great hints and tips!

Since this is my first Spring in this area, I’ve been amazed at the variety of wildflowers along the road.  Lupines, woodland phlox, another plant that I am thinking might be a wild creeping phlox,  red columbines with yellow throats, purple geraniums, daisies, woodland violets and some others that I haven’t ID’d as of yet.  I am ashamed to admit that I’ve been ripping what I thought was weeds out fo the garden.  Turns out they were the wild geraniums and some other pretty orange flower that I haven’t ID’d.  <sigh>  All around, Spring is absolutely beautiful here.  Soooo much green everywhere!  Within days, it seems the trees have filled out completely and I have NEVER seen lilacs like I’ve seen here.  Huge 20-30 things and so full of blooms!  Amazing.

         

 

3 thoughts on “Welcome June!

  1. I’m Jealous, you’ve got lilacs! I am working with what mom had planted and it’s had issues growing in height. Sister brought babies from one of her neighbors last year … and they survived the winter!

    Next time you dig up something, snap a picture and I’ll see if I have it growing here.

  2. Technically… I don’t have any lilacs that big. I have two that I got from my Dad that are about 12″ tall. I have been admiring all the ones I see when I drive into town. Lots of them are from abandoned homesteads. I’m going to have to start carrying a shovel in the van! LOL

Leave a Reply

