Changes on the horizon….

Me thinks it might be time to rethink some things and make some changes in my little crafting world.

As I sit around and look at all of this crafting clutter, the thought that comes to mind is WHY?  Why do I do what I do?  Basically comes down to the fact that I started crafting because I am a crafty person at heart.  I liked to create things because it was fun.  Now, I try to create things to sell and that’s about it.   And, with the economy the way it is…. crafting has unfortunately become a dissapointment for me.   The fun of it all seems to have left the building. 😦  

So….. I believe that next year I will be whittling down my crafting adventures to about 10% – 20%  of what I do now.  The hard part will be choosing what I want to keep doing and what I want to stop doing. 

what I do (a little personal inventory):

drawing/painting – this will stay as it’s a huge part of who I am

jewelry making – this will probably have to go.  Market is too flooded with handmade jewelry and I don’t make anything that can’t be easily created by someone else.

crochet  – mostly go except for making a few things for family. 

sewing – same as the crochet…

paper crafting/card making – this will probably go for the most part.  Maybe keep a few things around for personal use.

vintage collectibles – it’s all going.  I just don’t have the room.

I guess this is going to be an effort to simplify things here.  This is also going to be one helluva sale once it gets rolling because this is a HUGE amount of supplies!  The supplies sale will most likely will be in my Yardsellr shop and then I will be closing up two of my Etsy shops for good.   My Bramble Oak Etsy shop will stay for now…. but Gypsy Wynd and Rustic Diva Designs will be going out of business.  It’s been a good run but times are a-changing and it’s time to look toward other things and start simplifying.  So, I guess that’s it.  Feels better to have written down what I have been thinking about for months.

TTFN

 

2 thoughts on “Changes on the horizon….

    1. LOL… how weird is this, Kath. You too, huh? I’ve just be spreading myself too thin and not concentrating on anything at all lately. Confusing, a little depressing sometimes and also overwhelming. I’ve got so much I need to do. Life has been crazy! I need to bring myself back to basics. 🙂

Leave a Reply

