Incubating Chicken Egg Experiment

Yesterday I started the new eggs in the incubator.  I received some Americana, a Maran, couple of RIR’s and a couple mixed breed eggs.  I got the incubator all set up and running smoothly.  Temps were good at 99-100 degrees and humidity has been steady at 55%.

Unfortunately, last night the temps dropped to 26 degrees outside which means the temps inside the house dropped quite a bit also.  So…. the temp in the incubator dropped to 92 degrees which has put me into a total panic.  It wasn’t a drop that lasted the whole night (I was up three times to check on them LOL).  But at 4:50 am, the temp was down to 92 degrees.

So, this morning I turned them and now I’m trying to get the temps back up to 100 degrees.  Added some foil to the lid of the incubator to reflect the heat back down to the eggs and set a towl on top of the whole thing.  I am keeping my fingers crossed that this will not be the end of the hatching before it even gets started.  😦

Any hints, tips or advice would be GREATLY appreciated.

3 thoughts on “Incubating Chicken Egg Experiment

  1. Me too! LOL I’ve been insuch a panic this morning trying to get the temp back to normal in the incubator but I think all is well for now. 🙂 I’ll keep updating on the progress. Only 20 days to go. 😉

  2. not very good odds of hatching them without a termostat of some kind, and I’m not trying to discourage you but maintaining the right temp for 21 days is gonna be rough. If i hadnt hauled my old water heater to the dump i would send you the one out of it. Good luck

Leave a Reply

