Easiest White Bean Dip (Poor Girl’s Hummus)

Similar to hummus but without the tahini.  What is tahini?  Well… I had to look that one up.    It’s a paste of ground seseme seeds.  OK, interesting.

Anyway, today I tried out a recipe for White Bean Dip. I’m gonna call it ‘Poor Girl’s Hummus”  simply because it’s a dip for the budget-minded..  In fact, it is made with basic ingredients that most of us already have in our fridge and pantry.  Only thing I picked up at the store for this is the white beans and they only cost .40 discout priced.  I usually keep chili and kidney beans in the pantry so this will be another staple that I will be sure to have on hand.   There are several variations out there but I found this to be the easiest one.  Straight-forward and very tasty.  In fact, I made it for lunch and the four of us (Hubby, FIL, Cousin and Moi) ate it all.

POOR GIRL’S HUMMUS or EASIEST WHITE BEAN DIP

1 can white beans (drained and rinsed)

2 cloves garlic (rough chopped)

2 TB lemon juice

½ tsp dried oregano

½ tsp salt

½ tsp black pepper

½ C. olive oil

Throw it all into a blender or food processor and puree until smooth.  Great with pita or any kind of chips / crackers.

I’d include a picture but unfortunately, it didn’t last long enough to photograph.  Next time I might try to change it up a bit with some bacon, black olives or chives.  Always options…..

3 thoughts on “Easiest White Bean Dip (Poor Girl’s Hummus)

Leave a Reply

