Crispy Fried Donut Sticks and Upcoming Weekend

My family and I have been really into the homemade donut thing lately.  I have a tiny, little deep fryer that I picked up at a rummage sale for $3.00 and although it won’t do up a lot of food at once… I just love it.

Anyway (in Homer Simpson voice) doooogghhnutttsss…..

Our current favorite is Crispy Fried Donut Sticks.  I believe it’s a typical Italian recipe.

2 – 1/4 C. all-purpose flour
1/4 C.  sugar
1TB vegetable oil
2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. vanilla

1/2 cup milk
A pinch of salt
oil for frying
sugar and cinnamon

Preparation:
Mix all ingredients and form a ball. Let stand 30 minutes.
Roll dough on floured table very thin, about 1/4″ thick ( as it grows well).  Cut into 1″ strips.
Fry and drain for a few seconds on paper towls (I use coffee filters for this) and sprinkle sugar and cinnamon while still warm

This is a super easy recipe and doesn’t las long!

Now… the upcoming weekend.  HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY to all of you moms out there and especially to my own Mom!  Love ya and I’m so grateful that you’re my Mom. 🙂

We’re planning on hitting a new flea market tomorrow (Saturday) morning to sell some of our wares.  Hopefully we’ll we successful and the weather will be nice.  I’m taking some of my bird feeders, windchimes and plants plus some of our rummagey things.   Sunday we might go fishing which sounds good to me.   Still need to buy our fishing liscenses so I guess it depends on the success of the flea market tomorrow.  If not, well then you’ll find me in the garden and hanging out with my hubby and kids. :0)

I got out of the freezer chicken for supper.  If the weather cooperates and the rain doesn’t come too early, I think I’ll get the fire pit going and grill us up some BBQ chix for supper.  Better go gather some firewood.

 

2 thoughts on “Crispy Fried Donut Sticks and Upcoming Weekend

Leave a Reply

