Dehydrating Honey Mushrooms

Honey mushrooms….  just one of the edible wild mushrooms we have in this part of the state. (WI)  I’m no mushroom expert.  I can identify a good puffball and a morel but that’s about it.  Needless to say, I didn’t pick these mushrooms but received them from my FIL who has been hunting mushrooms longer than I’ve been alive.  He calls them ‘Grass Mushrooms’.  I looked for an ID online and found that they’re called ‘Honey Mushrooms’.

 

IDing these was a little tricky.  I didn’t realize that the little button shaped mushrooms are the immature (best bet for eating) size for these and the umbrella shaped mushrooms are the mature (you better eat these quick) size.

Anywhoo – last year I froze the mushrooms that we had picked.  They were OK – good in soups and casseroles.  This year I decided to save the freezer space and dehydrate them.

 

Amazingly easy!  Clean them up.  I know the preferred method of all-knowing chefs is to brush off the mushrooms with a damp rag. BUT I didn’t know where these were collected from so mine got a quick rinse under cold water.

Slice the caps into 1/4 – 1/2 inch slices.  I saved some of the upper parts of the stems and broken pieces for a really rich mushroom stock that is now residing in my freezer.

Set in an even layer in your dehydrator.  Give them about 1/2″ of space around your little mushroom slices for good air flow.  Follow the directions on your dehydrator as far as temp control and time.  Check frequently as this is not a terribly long process.  Mine took about 5 hrs.  You’ll know they’re dry when they snap as you break them in half.

 

Put into a jar with a lid that seals tightly and keep in a cool, dark place.  Rehydrate and use in stews, sauces, soups, etc.

Leave a Reply

