Strawberry Kringle and Wind Chimes

Due to an over-abundance of strawberries this spring (thank you Mother Nature for all the rain),  I’ve been trying to think of new ways to use the fresh strawberries I’ve been picking.  Recently I made them with cream cheese and chocolate… those lasted for about 1 day.  Yesterday I decided to try my hand at Kringle.  Much to my surprise, I posted on Facebook that I had made Kringle and not everyone knew what it was.  Apparently it is a dessert that is ‘native’ to Wisconsin. So, to those of you who do not recognize this food, it is basically a type of pastry.  Similar to a Danish or a Kuchen.  Here’s my recipe.

KringleStrawberry

STRAWBERRY KRINGLE

3 sticks butter

4 – 1/4 C. all purpose flour

1 egg plus milk to equal 1 cup

 

4 to 5  C.  fresh strawberries – tops removed and sliced about 1/4″ thick

1/3 – 1/2 C. Sugar (depending on the sweetness of your berries)

cornstarch

1 small egg, beaten

For kringle dough – mix the butter and flour together in a large bowl using a pastry blender.  It should resemble coarse crumbs.  Beat the egg and milk together and then stir into the butter and flour mixture.    Let sit in fridge for about 30 minutes.

Heat the strawberries in a medium saucepan over low-medium.  Mix in sugar and continue heating for about 10 minutes.  Your strawberries should begin to cook down and get juicy.   After about 10 minutes, mix about 2 TB cornstarch with equal amount of water (2TB) and add to your strawberries.  This will thicken up the juice and give you a nice berry sauce.  Let it cool a bit.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Remove your kringle dough from the fridge.  Divide into 4 equal portions.  Roll out each portion on a floured surface to a 8″ x 15″ rectangle.   Spread your strawberry mixture in the center of the dough leaving 3″ at the top, bottom and sides for folding.  Fold the top and bottom over the berries then fold over the sides to create a pocket that is about 12″ long x 4″ wide.  You can gently pinch the edges closed if you wish… helped mine seal a little better while baking.  Repeat with all portions of dough and all of berries.

Brush the top and sides of your ‘pockets’ with the small beaten egg.  

Bake at 375 degrees for approx 20-30 minutes or until the top is a nice, golden brown.  

Let cool and then drizzle the top with a simple frosting of powdered sugar mixed with a little water.

KringleStrawberry2

 

Now… I know these instructions seem rather long, but you can shortcut the whole thing by using prepared pie filling instead of making your own fruit filling.  Besides the strawberry kringle, I made one of apple and one of  black cherry.  Other options would be cream cheese filling, almond paste filling, orange marmalade or lemon curd.  The options are pretty much endless.

Now as for the wind chimes…. I’ve been making these for about 3 years.  Using odds and ends, beads, rusty junk and vintage jewelry and silverware – stuff like that.  Well, then I came up with the idea for wire wrapped tree of life wind chimes.  I’ve made the small pendants for jewelry so I figured why not something bigger?  This was so much FUN!  So far, I’ve made 4 and sold two.  They’re very labor intensive but the end result is just amazing (IMO anyway).  Recently, I’ve also jumped into making rain chains because my Mom requested one for her porch.  I’m still working on that one but yesterday, I completed one with beach glass.  I’m pretty happy with how it turned out…. it’s about 7 feet long and has pieces of green, aqua, brown and white sea glass.  Probably going to have to keep working on this venture.  Too much fun to make just one!  😉   I don’t have any pics of the rain chains yet.  Need to figure out how to photograph them properly.  Maybe a panoramic view?

TreeOfLifeSteelandPeachPinkKnives2 treeoflifewindchimeTurquoise treeoflifewindchime TreeOfLifeHowliteChime

 

 

Photos and Wire Wrap Tree Of Life Wind Chimes ©Bramble Oak 2013
Visit my on Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/brambleoak
Check out my Shops on Etsy: https://www.etsy.com/shop/brambleoak
                                                             https://www.etsy.com/shop/gypsywynd
Follow my on Twitter:  https://twitter.com/brambleoak
6 thoughts on “Strawberry Kringle and Wind Chimes

  1. never heard of a rain chain before. but could you take photo with the camera backed up to get it all in and the photo edit it down to size. I know I can do that with some of my pics. just a suggestion!

Leave a Reply

