Drying the Chive Harvest

Today I finished up drying and getting the chives into jars. Everything in the house smells oniony and delicious. I have read that some people do not like to dry their chives because they feel it loses a lot of the flavor but I have to say that has not been my experience. I think it retains the flavor just fine. Anyway – here’s what I did….

Picked a nice bunch of the chives.  Yes… they’ve already bloomed so I also saved the seeds for my Etsy shop.  The plants will just keep on going and send up new growth.  Gave them a nice, stern buzzcut so to speak.

chives1

.Then I rinsed them and laid them out in the dehydrator.  These don’t take very long in my machine…. maybe 6 hours in total.  You know they’re done when they’re crispy-sounding, like straw.

chives2  

I purchased a coffee grinder from a 2nd hand store specifically for herbs this year.  I had a mini food processor but it didn’t get the herbs as fine as I liked.  chives3

Here they are all ground up and in a glass jar.  They will keep in my cupboard for a very, very long time.  Some pieces are like fine powder and some are a little bigger.  A little variety is a good thing.  🙂  

chives4

A little extra chives here that I mixed with natural sea-salt.  I supposed I should have just put the salt and the chive bits into the jar and shook it up but I put it all into the coffee grinder and it turned everything (even the salt) into a very fine powder.  Lesson learned…. didn’t exactly want powdered salt but it’ll still work.

chives5

Leave a Reply

